How can wine be halal?

Wine is the conversion of grape juice or other vegetable extract, by fermentation. This is referred to as ‘vinification’, and is a well-known process amongst wine producers and those who work in the industry.

Wine becomes halal when the alcohol from it has been removed, this can be achieved by the ‘spinning cone’ process.

The Islamic community clearly states that wine is haram/ prohibited by ‘default’.

How do you address this age-old belief?

The first point to remember is that alcohol is haram/ strictly prohibited in Islam, not ‘wine’ as a general concept.

We appreciate that this is a sensitive topic within our community, and one that will always be open for debate; but this is where the importance of educating Muslims about dealcoholization (and the process it involves) comes in.

These days, Muslims are open to the idea of socialising in any environment but without compromising on their beliefs and values. Our founder, Azhar, is a perfect example of this; who works in the corporate world and has an interest in trying high-end drinks (other than juice and soft drinks) that help him to truly feel a part of social/ professional events and celebrations.

With a product that tastes so similar to the ‘real deal’, you must get asked to quality assure a lot;

How do you do this and guarantee that your drinks are halal?

The alcohol content in our products is actually the minimal. It is 0.0%.  This is less than what is found in soft drinks and juices. Naturally, this is not often mentioned in mainstream media and why we do not chemically extract or chemically produce our drinks (like many others do, on the market today); this assures that all our drinks are 100% halal.

Azanti recently claimed ‘Fatwa’ from Regent Park Mosque, which has clearly been a pivotal moment. This was just before the London Halal Festival in August 2017; were you pleased with the Muslim community’s positive response at this event?

Receiving Fatwa from Regent Park Mosque has been essential for the business and our personal principles and beliefs; we were extremely proud to share this with the Muslim community at the festival. Needless to say, we have been delighted with the positive response. Many of the Muslims we met at the event were discovering the distinct flavours of wine for the first time; their excitement and intrigue was humbling.

What does ‘fatwa’ mean?

‘Fatwa’ is a ruling on a point of Islamic law, given by a recognised authority. Azanti’s was granted by the highly-esteemed Regent Park Mosque, and has been essential in certifying our products as 100% halal.  Azanti Wine recently received their Halal Certificate and confirmation from the London Central Mosque Trust & Islamic Cultural Centre for the Islamic Ruling on the Sale and Distribution of non-alcoholic drinks.


If you want to find out more about our products, please go to our FAQs page.  Alternatively if you have a question not covered in our FAQs, please drop us an email.